Honor society inducts new members in its 63rd year

On September 27, 11 seniors and eight juniors were inducted into Saint Joseph’s Beta Omicron Chapter of Delta Epsilon Sigma – a national scholastic honor society for students and alumni of college and universities with a Catholic tradition. The ceremony was held in the Viola George Auditorium before a large crowd of students, friends, family members, and college faculty and staff. Coinciding with the annual Family Weekend, the ceremony was “a beautiful start” to an already exciting weekend, said Vincent Kloskowski, the chapter’s advisor.

This year’s inductees are:

Mary Rose Becker
Kelsey Doiron
Melanie Edson
Rose LeBlanc
Dorothy Leckie
Nicholas Lops
Caitlin Phillips
Kristen Pietri

Sarah Bakun
Kristal Boston
Christopher Bryant
Terence Cullen
Theresa Hendrix
Colby Houdlette
Leanne Lessard
Rachelle Messuri
Robert Michaud
Brittany Robertson
Kiley Yescott

“We feel fortunate to have inducted a group of students who can serve as role models. They have not only have performed well academically during their careers at Saint Joseph's, but they have been and continue to be engaged in service both inside and outside of the classroom,” said Kloskowski, a member of Delta Epsilon Sigma himself. These characteristics make up the very foundation of Delta Epsilon Sigma, he said.

Now in it 63rd year, the college’s Beta Omicron Chapter was founded in 1950, by then-president Dr. Daniel J. O’Neill, said Sister Mary George O’Toole. Given its legacy at Saint Joseph’s, the chapter looks forward to advancing and building upon its past and current accomplishments.

“The future of Delta Epsilon Sigma is strong,” Kloskowski said, “and the pledge from our Delta leaders and chapter members is to increase their involvement within the campus community this year while continuing their outreach in the global community. I'm proud of all the Delta students’ accomplishments, and look forward to encouraging and supporting their leadership in these endeavors.”