On Friday, April 29, students and faculty took center stage as their achievements and hard work were celebrated at Saint Joseph’s annual Research Fair and proceeding Academic Awards Ceremony.

Beginning at 3:30 p.m., the doors to the Student Lounge in Harold Alfond Center were opened to the public, allowing the SJC community a chance to view the research posters created in culmination of yearlong or semester-based studies. Representing all disciplines, students from the biology, natural sciences, psychology, and sociology departments, as well as Community-Based Learning curriculum, displayed and discussed their research to the fair’s visitors. Topics presented included “Food Waste to Food: Using Food Waste to Grow Fish,” “The Impact of Working While in College,” “Pit Greenhouses,” “The Importance of Essential Nutrients in Crop Development,” and “Technology and Social Media Affecting Communication in Romantic Relationships.”

Following the poster presentations, College members gathered in the gymnasium for light refreshments and to cheer on the award recipients at the 2016 Academic Awards Ceremony. Students and faculty were honored for personal and academic achievements, and the College as a whole celebrated another standout year in education.

Individual award recipients from the Class of 2016 are as follows:

Biology Awards

Ayla Libby, Biology Department Award

Aprille Hibbard, Sister Mary Joseph Bouchard Award

Business Administration Awards

Marisa McCray, Accounting Award

Riley Cox, Business and Sports Management Award

Danielle Ouellette, Finance Award

Andrew Caron, International Business Award

Jason Riley, Management Award

James Riley, Marketing Award

Austin Dugas, Marketing Award

Chemistry Awards

Michaila Parent, Principles of Chemistry Award

Cassandra Leech, Timothy J. O’Connor Award

Kimberly Dodd, Organic Chemistry Award

Garrett Fillebrown, Physics Award

Communications Awards

Leah Brown, Sister Mary Delores Sablone Award

Coby Porter, Jennifer Mary Jimenez Award

Education Awards

Emily Howes, Evelyn O’Connor Award

Rachel Pelletier, Education Department Award

English Awards

Paige McKenzie, Poetry Award

Rhiannon Pelletier, Senior Writing and Publishing Award

Deanna Barry, Senior English Award

Foreign Languages Awards

Kelsey Dolan, Spanish Award

Meghan Burke, Classics Award

History & Political Science Awards

Kelsey Dolan, Sister Mary de la Salle O’Donnell Award

Andrew Caron, Dr. Stephen Aylward Memorial Political Science Award

Natural Science Award

Erin Wright-Little, Environmental Science Award

Nursing Awards

Jennifer Nash, Department of Nursing Award

Lauren Faeth, Carroll L. & Ina G. Bean Award

Nicole Anderson, Ina G. Bean Award

Nicole Wiggin, Janet Irish Award

Michelle Stansfield, Sister Consuela White Award

Katelyn Vanags, Frances M. Linehan Maternal Child Health Award

Psychology Awards

Deanna Barry, Psychology Department Award

Sofia Shahid, Senior Psychology Award

Sociology and Criminal Justice Award

William Brooks, Sociology Department Award

Sports and Exercise Science Awards

Scott Benner, Sports Management Award

Anne Fougere, Physical Education Award

Taylor Reuillard, Exercise Science Award

Marissa Johnson, Health and Wellness Promotion Award

Theology Award

Develan Abbott, Department of Theology Award

Community-Based Learning Awards

Rachel Pelletier, Exceptional Achievement in Community-Based Learning Award

Student Government Association, Maine Campus Compact President’s Campus Leadership Award

Outstanding Student-Athletes Awards

Taylor Reuillard, Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award

Erica Boulanger, Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award

Women’s Volleyball & Men’s Cross Country, Team GPA Award

Public Service Award

Rachel Pelletier, Jim Killoran ’80 Public Service Award

Valedictorian Award

Michelle Stansfield

Photos from both events can be viewed on the College’s Facebook page.