Delta Epsilon Sigma National Honor Society and Academic Awards were broadcast on April 23. Sigma Beta Delta Induction was broadcast on April 29.

Delta Epsilon Sigma National Honor Society

The Saint Joseph’s College of Maine campus community is proud to announce the induction of the following new members into the Delta Epsilon Sigma National Honor Society:

Seniors: Brianna Cobb, Abigail Earle, Kelly Sheehan, Brianna Shelley

Juniors: Emma Allen, Caitlyn Demers, Olivia Haraden, William Hill, Sarah Hotchkiss, Kaylee Todisco, Kaleigh Walsh

Guest Speaker: Caitlin Eldridge, Assistant Professor of Social Work

Chapter Advisor, Delta Epsilon Sigma: Dr. James Paruk, Associate Professor of Biology

Delta Epsilon Sigma National Scholastic Honor Society is a national scholastic honor society for students, faculty, and alumni of colleges and universities with a Catholic tradition. Since 1939, member academics recognize the achievement of their colleagues, foster scholarly activities and help to build a sense of intellectual community among its members. Delta Epsilon Sigma also gives national recognition to outstanding work accomplished by member colleges and chapters which total 119 chapters nationwide. They sponsor scholarship, graduate fellowship, and undergraduate writing competitions annually for their members. Undergraduate students are eligible for membership if they’re ranked in the top 20 percent of their class, have a minimum GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, and have a record of dedication to intellectual activity and community service.

Academic Awards

On April 23, the College will celebrate the hard work and achievements of students during an award ceremony.
→ View the Academic Awards Program.

The College proudly recognizes the following awards to students:

Biology Awards

Meghan Glisson, Biology Department Award
Safa Al Kinani, Sister Mary Joseph Bouchard Award

Business Administration Awards

Emily Rose, Accounting Award
Patrick Kelly, Business and Sport Management Award
John Casale, Finance Award
Grace Chadbourne, Human Resource Management Award
Grace Chadbourne, Management Award
Colin Grant, Marketing Award

Chemistry Awards

Hayden Motter, Timothy J. O’Connor Award

Communications Awards

Brendon Whitlock, Sister Delores Sablone Award
David Tuttle, Jennifer Mary Jimenez Award

Criminal Justice Award

Grant Stewart, Criminal Justice Award

Education Awards

Erin Olson, Evelyn O’Connor Award
Renee Leask, Education Department Award
Danielle Tardiff, Elementary Student Teaching Award
Abigail Earle, Secondary Education Student Teaching Award

English Awards

Reginald Bourn, Dr. Edward J. Rielly Writing and Publishing Award
Katherine Walls, Senior English Award

Fine Arts Award

Madigan Cogger, Fine Arts Award

History and Political Science Awards

Abigail Earle, Sister Mary de la Salle O’Donnell Award
Rachel Bruns, Dr. Stephen Aylward Memorial Political Science Award

Natural Science Award

Shaylee Davis, Environmental Science Award

Nursing Awards

Brenna Smith, Nursing Department Award
Allison Laferriere, Carroll L. & Ina G. Bean Award
Emily Hughes, Ina G. Bean Award
Kelsey Courtois, Janet Irish Award
Libby Chadbourne, Sister Consuela White Award
Kate Ferguson, Frances M. Linehan Child Health Award

Psychology Award

Samantha Fazio, Psychology Department Award
Grant Stewart, Senior Psychology Award

Sport and Exercise Science Awards

Luke Johnson, Physical Education Award
Mattingly Simaan, Physical Education Award
Justin Juliano, Exercise Science Award
Emily Huff, Health and Wellness Promotion Award

Theology Awards

Zebulon Leavitt, Theology Department Award

Community-Based Learning Awards

Jullian Rolfe, Catherine McAuley Service Award
Madigan Cogger, Exceptional Achievement in Community-Based Learning
Kathryn Huntress, Maine Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellow
Grant Stewart, PILLARS Honorable Mention Student Award
Nathan Domingue, International Service Award
Grant Stewart, International Service Award
Safa Al Kinani, Jim Killoran ’80 Public Service Award
Rachel Bruns, Servant Leadership Award
Sarah Egan, Spirit of Mercy Award

Student Athlete Academic Awards

Hunter Richardson, Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award
Erin Olson, Female Student-Athlete of the Year Award

Valedictorian Award

Erin Olson, Valedictorian Award

Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society

Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society recognizes academic achievement among students in the fields of business, management, and administration. The College is proud to announce the induction of the following new members into the Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society:

Maeve Blodgett
Abigail Brewer
John Casale
Michael Doherty
Jessica Dusseault
Darren Emerson Jr.
Olivia Esposito
Kyle Harris
Cassidy Lee
Cody Rizzo
Logan Skinner