group photo of the 2019 Delta Epsilon Sigma Honor Society Inductees

Photo caption: Front row, left to right: April Benak, Marissa Hoffman, Kayleigh Rhodes, Rebecca Barulli, Allison Emery, Kylee Veilleux, Miranda Eisenhart, Ally Simpson, Renee Leask, Bailey Gryskwicz. Back row, left to right: Professor James Paruk, chapter president: Keyana Butler, Michaela Rubasky, Rachel Bruns, Meghan Glisson, chapter treasurer Kaylyn Labonte, Adrienne Dolley, Reggie Bourn.

By MaKenzie Copp ′20, double majoring in English and Writing and Publishing

This past weekend, on Friday October 4th, the Saint Joseph’s College community came together in the Viola George Auditorium in Alfond Hall to celebrate a selection of undergraduate students from the Junior and Senior classes who were inducted into the Beta Omicron chapter of the Delta Epsilon Sigma National Scholastic Honor Society. The purpose of the Delta Epsilon Sigma Honor Society is “to recognize academic accomplishments, to foster scholarly activities, and to encourage a sense of intellectual community among its members.”¹ When looking for new members, the mission of the society is to induct those “persons who have a record of outstanding academic accomplishment, who have shown dedication to intellectual activity, and who have accepted their responsibility of service to others,”¹ and as such is a society that strongly reflects the core values of Saint Joseph’s College: faith, excellence, integrity, community, respect, compassion, and justice.

Eligibility for the society hinges on students having completed over half of their required credit hours for their degree, which at Saint Joseph’s is 64 credits. Applicants must also have maintained a GPA of 3.65 or higher through their either two or three years at the college. Over the summer, students who were eligible for induction were informed by email, and asked to submit an application, detailing any leadership or service roles they participate in on or off campus, as well as personal essay exemplifying how their use their talents to serve others. This past Friday, all those applicants who were chosen to be a part of the Beta Omicron chapter were inducted— new inductees include

Reginald Bourn, Rachel Bruns, Allison Emery, Meghan Glisson, Marissa Hoffman, Renee Leask, Alexandria Simpson

Rebecca Barulli, April Benak, Miranda Eisenhart, Bailey Gryskwicz, Kayleigh Rhodes, Kylee Veilleux.

Please join the Saint Joseph’s College community in congratulating all our new Delta Epsilon Sigma members on their success in both academics and serviceship.

¹ Delta Epsilon Sigma, Delta Epsilon Sigma, 2017,